Run OpenClaw on a small rented server unless you need something only a Mac can do. OpenClaw's own documentation suggests either a dedicated Mac mini or a small VPS for a set-up that never sleeps.
iMessage is the main reason to keep a Mac, because it needs a Mac signed in to Messages. Even then, OpenClaw's Gateway can run on a Linux server and reach that Mac over Tailscale.
Apple's figures put the current Mac mini at four watts when idle and 70 at full load. The facts below come from OpenClaw's documentation and Apple's support pages, read on 27 October 2026.

Who this is for
- you want OpenClaw running all the time and are weighing a Mac mini against a rented server
- you use iMessage or other Mac-only features
- you want to know what each choice costs to keep running
Not for you if you have already chosen a server: our OpenClaw hosting guide sets it up.
Key numbers
- 613 kWh a year if the same Mac ran at full load all year, by our calculation Our calculation,
- 70 W Apple's figure for the same Mac mini at full load Official page,
- 35 kWh a year for a Mac mini that idles all year, by our calculation from Apple's figure Our calculation,
What a Mac can do that a server cannot
- iMessage. OpenClaw's iMessage plugin runs imsg on the Mac signed in to Messages, which needs Full Disk Access and Automation permissions.
- Controlling Mac apps. Its Peekaboo bridge lets the agent automate the macOS interface.
- Apple's on-device models. A plugin uses Apple Foundation Models, which run on the Mac itself, for a light set-up.
- The macOS app, with a menu bar icon, a widget panel and voice. The app can also control a Gateway that runs elsewhere.
Everything else, including WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack and the AI models behind an API, runs the same on a Linux server. Our OpenClaw security guide covers locking either one down.
The middle way: Gateway on a server, iMessage on a Mac
OpenClaw's iMessage documentation describes a common set-up. The Gateway runs on a Linux server or virtual machine. The Mac with iMessage sits in the same Tailscale network, and the Gateway reaches it over SSH.
The server then carries the always-on work, and the Mac only has to stay on for iMessage. The same pages suggest a separate macOS user and Apple ID for the bot, so its messages stay apart from yours.
What each one costs to keep running
A Mac mini costs its purchase price plus electricity. Apple measures its power at the wall, so the figures include power-supply losses:
An agent waits most of the time, so real use sits much nearer the idle line than full load.
| Running | Watts | kWh a year | kWh over two years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Idle all the time | 4 | 35 | 70 |
| Full load all the time | 70 | 613 | 1,226 |
Multiply the kilowatt-hours by your electricity rate, and add Apple's price for the model from its own store. Most of the time the agent waits for messages, so its use is close to the idle line.
A server costs its monthly price times 24 for two years, with nothing to buy. OpenClaw's DigitalOcean guide runs it on 1 GB of memory with swap, and suggests 2 GB if memory runs out.
| Plan | Price | New-customer offer | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hostinger KVM 1 1 vCPU, 4 GB | $6.49/month 24-month term, paid up front; Black Friday first-term price, then $11.99 checked 25 Oct 2026 | Black Friday prices on VPS plans and AI automation apps, for the first subscription term only checked 30 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| Hostinger KVM 2 2 vCPU, 8 GB | $8.79/month 24-month term, paid up front; Black Friday first-term price, then $14.99 checked 25 Oct 2026 | Black Friday prices on VPS plans and AI automation apps, for the first subscription term only checked 30 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| DigitalOcean Basic Droplet, 2 vCPUs, 4 GiB 2 vCPU, 4 GB | $24/month billed per second (60-second minimum), capped at this monthly price · VAT not stated checked 25 Oct 2026 | New accounts get a $5 credit that lasts 90 days and covers every product except SaaS add-ons checked 29 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| Kamatera Cloud server Type B (General Purpose), 2 cores, 4 GB 2 vCPU, 4 GB | $39/month monthly, no long-term contract · VAT not stated checked 25 Oct 2026 | A 30-day trial of one cloud server in a configuration worth up to $100 checked 29 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| Contabo Cloud VPS 4 4 vCPU, 8 GB | €4.40/month 24-month term, paid up front; the price applies to the first 24 months and to the EU region in Germany; other regions cost more each month checked 25 Oct 2026 | No offer | Visit |
Some of the lowest prices need a long term paid in advance; the term is under each price.
| Plan | Price | New-customer offer | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hosting.com Managed Server 4GB (OpenClaw pre-installed) 2 vCPU, 4 GB | $36/month 1-year term, paid up front; introductory first-year price, then $40 checked 25 Oct 2026 | No offer | Visit |
The host keeps the server and OpenClaw updated.
Our guide to what OpenClaw and Hermes Agent cost a month adds the AI model's cost, which is often larger than the server's.
Uptime, updates and being away
- A Mac at home stops when your power or internet does. OpenClaw's docs advise keeping it plugged in, turning off sleep and using caffeinate for always-on use.
- A server in a data centre keeps running while you travel, and you reach it over SSH.
- Both need restarts now and then. OpenClaw's issue #91588, about the Gateway's memory growing until the system stops it, was still open on 27 October 2026.
Old laptops and small home computers
OpenClaw's documentation includes a guide for a Raspberry Pi, and an old laptop works the same way. They save the purchase but share the Mac's limits: your power, your internet and your updates.
Which to choose
- Choose a Mac mini if you need iMessage, Mac app automation or Apple's on-device models, and it can stay on at home.
- Choose a server if you use other chat apps, travel, or want nothing running at home.
- Choose both if you need iMessage but want the Gateway always on: Gateway on the server, Messages on the Mac.
How we checked
We read OpenClaw's documentation and its issue list, and Apple's power figures for the Mac mini, on 27 October 2026. The energy figures are our calculation from Apple's watts.
Our own measurements will be added here, with their dates, when our test bench runs them.
Mistakes to avoid
Buying a Mac only for WhatsApp or Telegram
Instead: Those channels run the same on a small server.
Letting the Mac sleep
Instead: Turn off sleep, or the agent stops answering.
Using your own Apple ID for the bot
Instead: OpenClaw's docs suggest a separate macOS user and Apple ID.
Forgetting the AI model's cost
Instead: The API bill is often larger than the server's.
Other questions
Do I need a Mac mini for OpenClaw?
Only for Mac-only features such as iMessage, Mac app automation or Apple's on-device models. Otherwise a small server runs it, as OpenClaw's own docs show.
Can OpenClaw use iMessage from a VPS?
Not on its own: iMessage needs a Mac signed in to Messages. The Gateway can run on the server and reach that Mac over Tailscale.
How much electricity does a Mac mini use running OpenClaw?
Apple gives four watts idle for the current model, about 35 kWh a year if it idles all year. Heavier work raises it towards 70 watts.
Sources and test notes
- OpenClaw documentation: iMessage, read
- OpenClaw documentation: iMessage deployment patterns, read
- OpenClaw documentation: macOS VMs (always-on advice), read
- OpenClaw documentation: Peekaboo bridge, read
- OpenClaw documentation: Apple Foundation Models, read
- OpenClaw documentation: macOS app remote control, read
- OpenClaw documentation: DigitalOcean guide, read
- OpenClaw issue #91588 on GitHub (Gateway memory growth), read
- Apple Support: Mac mini power consumption and thermal output, read
Every page read on 27 October 2026. Energy use is our calculation from Apple's watts; Apple's prices are on its own store.