The biggest OpenClaw risk lies in what you let it reach: your accounts, your files and any port left open to the internet. Keep its Gateway off the public internet and give the agent accounts and keys of its own. Then limit the commands it can run, and keep a backup you can restore before every update.
Every step below follows OpenClaw's own security, update and backup documentation, read on 27 October 2026.

Who this is for
- you run OpenClaw on a rented server, or are about to
- you used a host's one-click image and want to know what it left open
- you want a checklist that ties each risk to the setting that closes it
Not for you if you are still choosing where to run OpenClaw: start with OpenClaw hosting.
Key numbers
- 2026.10.8 version the newest OpenClaw release on 27 October 2026; new ones arrive several times a week Official page,
- 18789 port the Gateway's port, which a normal install keeps on the server itself Official page,
- 8 hours of recovery after an upgrade to 2026.9.5, in an open report in OpenClaw's tracker Official page,
What can go wrong, in plain words
OpenClaw is an agent that acts for you, so its risks are the risks of whatever it can touch. OpenClaw's own security guide works on one rule: one Gateway is one trust boundary. Do not share a Gateway between people who should not see each other's data. The main ways things go wrong:
- an open Gateway: someone on the internet reaches the control panel that drives your agent
- prompt injection: a web page, e-mail or file contains instructions the model obeys
- too much reach: the agent can send messages, run commands or spend money beyond what its job needs
- a bad update: an upgrade breaks a working set-up and there is no tested way back
- The internet (web pages, e-mail, strangers): connects to Your server (only what you allow).
- Your server (OpenClaw Gateway, skills, workspace): connects to Your accounts (only the keys you give).
- Your accounts (chat apps, e-mail, files, model API)
Step 1: keep the Gateway off the internet
On a normal install on a server, OpenClaw's Gateway listens only on the server itself, so nobody on the internet can reach it. OpenClaw's security guide warns that its container images default to an exposed address instead, which then needs authentication. Reach the Gateway through an SSH tunnel or Tailscale, as OpenClaw's server guide does:
bash
ssh -L 18789:localhost:18789 you@your-server
# then open http://localhost:18789 in your browserThen run OpenClaw's own check, which looks for settings that have drifted from the safe defaults:
bash
openclaw security auditIf you must let the Gateway listen on your local network or tailnet, it needs a shared secret. OpenClaw's guide names a token or a password, unless a trusted proxy handles sign-in. A firewall that allows only SSH is a sensible second layer.
Step 2: give the agent its own accounts and keys
Create separate accounts for the agent wherever you can: its own e-mail address, its own chat bot and its own API keys. If something goes wrong, you can then revoke the agent's access without locking yourself out.
In most chat channels, OpenClaw's defaults answer an unknown sender with a pairing code instead of obeying them. Keep pairing or an allowlist on, and do not switch direct messages to open. Its secrets commands show where keys are stored and which files hold credentials.
Step 3: limit what it can run
OpenClaw can run tools in a sandbox, give an agent read-only access, and ask for your approval before it runs a command. Its security guide also notes that an agent with the message tool can, by default, send messages across conversations and providers. Restrict that if your agent does not need it.
Treat anything the agent reads from outside, such as web pages, e-mails and files, as untrusted. OpenClaw's guide says the choice of model and the wrapping of untrusted input help limit prompt injection. It also says bypass flags should stay off in production.
Step 4: update safely, with a way back
OpenClaw ships new releases several times a week, and updates fix security problems. Updates can also break things. An open report in OpenClaw's tracker, filed on 19 September 2026, describes about 8 hours of recovery after an upgrade to version 2026.9.5.
OpenClaw's update guide says to create a verified backup before a significant update. It warns that a package rollback cannot undo changes already made to its databases. So back up first, preview the update, then apply it:
bash
openclaw backup create
openclaw update --dry-run
openclaw updateA backup restores into a fresh folder, so your live set-up is never overwritten:
bash
openclaw backup restore <archive.tar.gz> --target <fresh-folder>For backups that run on their own, OpenClaw can keep a daily copy offsite:
bash
openclaw backup enable --to offsite --every 24h --keep-daily 7Step 5: cap what it can spend
Set a spending limit or a prepaid balance on every model API key the agent uses. Then a loop or an attack cannot run up a large bill.
What the one-click images say they set up
Four hosts we cover install OpenClaw for you. Their own pages describe the set-up in different detail, and none says how the Gateway is reached:
Whatever the image, run openclaw security audit and check the open ports before you connect accounts.
| Host | What its page says it sets up | HTTPS |
|---|---|---|
| Hostinger | a one-click app in its Docker manager, with a built-in firewall | not stated |
| DigitalOcean | a 1-Click app: OpenClaw 2026.10.7 on Ubuntu 24.04 | not stated |
| Kamatera | a marketplace image, openclaw_latest on Ubuntu Server 24.04 | not stated |
| Contabo | OpenClaw from the order page, at no extra cost | you add a domain and a Let's Encrypt certificate, its FAQ says |
If a host's image runs OpenClaw in a container, remember OpenClaw's own warning: its container images listen on an exposed address by default. Pair that with a token or password, as its exposure runbook explains.
What a managed plan takes off your hands
On a managed plan the host handles the server side. Cloudways says it tests updates before applying them and keeps daily backups. Hosting.com patches, monitors and backs up its managed OpenClaw server. The agent's own settings, accounts and keys are still yours to secure.
| Plan | Price | New-customer offer | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hosting.com Managed Server 4GB (OpenClaw pre-installed) 2 vCPU, 4 GB | $36/month 1-year term, paid up front; introductory first-year price, then $40 checked 25 Oct 2026 | No offer | Visit |
Cloudways' managed OpenClaw plans are not in our price records yet.
The checklist on one page
Print this and tick it off on every server that runs OpenClaw:
- the Gateway listens only on the server, or behind a token and a trusted proxy
- you reach it through an SSH tunnel or Tailscale, and the firewall allows only SSH
openclaw security auditreports no drift from the safe defaults- the agent has its own e-mail, chat bot and API keys
- direct messages need pairing or an allowlist
- commands run in a sandbox or need your approval
- every model API key has a spending limit
- a backup runs daily, and you have restored one at least once
- you back up before each update and read the release notes
Security fixes come often: watch them
OpenClaw publishes security advisories on its GitHub page, with the version that fixes each one. Several rated high have concerned who may approve or run actions, which is exactly what an agent's safety rests on:
Examples of OpenClaw security advisories rated high (read 27 Oct 2026)
- Changes to MCP configuration could skip owner authorisation (fixed in 2026.7.1).
- Inbound voice calls could inherit the owner's tool authority (fixed in 2026.8.1).
- Allowlists for wrapped commands could trust any command inside them (fixed in 2026.8.1).
- Release 2026.10.7.
- Release 2026.10.8, the newest when we checked.
Mistakes to avoid
Opening port 18789 to reach the Gateway from anywhere
Instead: Use an SSH tunnel or Tailscale instead.
Trusting a container image's defaults
Instead: OpenClaw's own guide says its containers expose the Gateway by default; add authentication.
Connecting your personal accounts
Instead: Give the agent accounts and keys of its own.
Updating without a backup
Instead: Run openclaw backup create first, and check you can restore it.
Leaving direct messages open
Instead: Keep pairing or an allowlist on.
Other questions
Is OpenClaw safe to use?
It can be, if you limit what it reaches. The risks come from an exposed Gateway, too much access and untrusted content the model reads; the five steps above address each one.
How do I back up OpenClaw?
Run openclaw backup create. According to OpenClaw's backup reference, the archive holds the configuration, credentials, its SQLite databases and, unless you leave it out, the workspace.
What should I do if an update fails?
Restore your backup into a fresh folder. OpenClaw's update guide warns that rolling the package back does not undo changes to its databases, which is why the backup comes first.
Sources and test notes
- OpenClaw documentation: security, read
- OpenClaw documentation: Linux server and VPS, read
- OpenClaw documentation: DigitalOcean (SSH tunnel), read
- OpenClaw documentation: updating, read
- OpenClaw documentation: update command, read
- OpenClaw documentation: tool and agent permissions, read
- OpenClaw documentation: Docker, read
- OpenClaw documentation: backup command, read
- OpenClaw security advisories on GitHub, read
- OpenClaw issue #153257: update to 2026.9.5 and 8 hours of recovery, read
- OpenClaw releases, read
- Cloudways managed AI agents, read
- Hosting.com OpenClaw hosting, read
- Hostinger: OpenClaw application, read
- DigitalOcean Marketplace: OpenClaw, read
- Kamatera: OpenClaw, read
- Contabo: OpenClaw hosting, read
Every page read on 27 October 2026; the issue and the advisories through GitHub's API.