Hermes Agent keeps a memory that grows across conversations and writes reusable skills for itself. A server that runs it therefore needs room for that data to grow, and a backup that keeps it. Its messaging gateway is a single background process that its own installer can set up as a service, and it refuses strangers by default.
Several hosts we cover install Hermes Agent for you, and two of them also run it for you on a managed plan. This guide follows Hermes Agent's own documentation and each host's page, read on 27 October 2026.

Who this is for
- you want Hermes Agent running all the time, reachable from Telegram, Discord, Slack or WhatsApp
- you are choosing between a managed plan, a one-click server and installing it yourself
- you want to know what it needs from a server before you rent one
Not for you if you would rather run OpenClaw: see OpenClaw hosting.
Key numbers
- 0.22.5 version the newest Hermes Agent release when we checked, released on 23 October 2026 Official page,
- 3.14 Python the Python version current first-party installs run on, according to its install guide Official page,
- 1 hour how long a pairing code for an unknown chat user stays valid Official page,
- 8 GB memory on Cloud VPS 4, Contabo's smallest Hermes plan Official page,
What Hermes Agent needs from a server
Hermes Agent is an open-source agent from Nous Research, released under the MIT licence. Its documentation gives these points that matter for hosting, read on 27 October 2026:
- it installs with one command on Linux, macOS, WSL2 and Windows, and current installs run on Python 3.14
- its data, including the memory and skills it builds up, lives in one folder,
~/.hermeson Linux, which is what you back up - the messaging gateway is a single background process;
hermes gateway installsets it up as a service - by default the gateway turns away anyone who is not on an allowlist or paired by direct message
- the install guide lists no memory or disk figure
bash
curl -fsSL https://hermes-agent.nousresearch.com/install.sh | bash
hermes gateway install # a user service
sudo loginctl enable-linger $USER # keep it running after you log outFor a service that starts when the server boots, the docs give sudo hermes gateway install --system instead. In Docker, they say to run the gateway as the container's main process with a restart policy, with the data folder mounted at /opt/data.
Which route fits you
Our guide to where to host an AI agent explains the routes in general. For Hermes Agent, these are the options among the hosts we cover:
- managed: Cloudways runs Hermes Agent for you, with updates it tests before release, and Hostinger's AI automation apps plan can run it too. Neither plan is in our price records yet
- one-click: Hostinger, DigitalOcean, Kamatera and Contabo install it when you order a server
- your own install: any server with 2 to 4 GB of memory, using the commands above or Docker
The images carry their own version labels, not Hermes Agent's 0.22.5 numbering: check and update after ordering.
| Host | What its page says it sets up |
|---|---|
| Hostinger | a one-click app in its Docker manager, with one-click updates and a built-in firewall |
| DigitalOcean | a 1-Click app labelled Hermes Agent 2026.9.24 on Ubuntu 24.04, with Python 3.12.3 |
| Kamatera | images labelled hermes_v2026.5.7, on Ubuntu Server 24.04 or 26.04 |
| Contabo | Hermes Agent from the order page; its Hermes plans start at 8 GB |
Hermes Agent's own install guide says current first-party installs run on Python 3.14. DigitalOcean's listing names Python 3.12.3, so run Hermes Agent's own updater after you order.
| Plan | Price | New-customer offer | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hostinger KVM 1 1 vCPU, 4 GB | $6.49/month 24-month term, paid up front; Black Friday first-term price, then $11.99 checked 25 Oct 2026 | Black Friday prices on VPS plans and AI automation apps, for the first subscription term only checked 30 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| Hostinger KVM 2 2 vCPU, 8 GB | $8.79/month 24-month term, paid up front; Black Friday first-term price, then $14.99 checked 25 Oct 2026 | Black Friday prices on VPS plans and AI automation apps, for the first subscription term only checked 30 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| DigitalOcean Basic Droplet, 2 vCPUs, 4 GiB 2 vCPU, 4 GB | $24/month billed per second (60-second minimum), capped at this monthly price · VAT not stated checked 25 Oct 2026 | New accounts get a $5 credit that lasts 90 days and covers every product except SaaS add-ons checked 29 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| Kamatera Cloud server Type B (General Purpose), 2 cores, 4 GB 2 vCPU, 4 GB | $39/month monthly, no long-term contract · VAT not stated checked 25 Oct 2026 | A 30-day trial of one cloud server in a configuration worth up to $100 checked 29 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| Contabo Cloud VPS 4 4 vCPU, 8 GB | €4.40/month 24-month term, paid up front; the price applies to the first 24 months and to the EU region in Germany; other regions cost more each month checked 25 Oct 2026 | No offer | Visit |
Some of the lowest prices need a long term paid in advance; the term is under each price.
How much memory it needs
Hermes Agent's install guide gives no memory or disk figure. Contabo sells its Hermes plans from 8 GB. The data folder grows as the agent stores memories and writes skills, so leave disk space as well.
Running your own small model next to it
Hermes Agent works with your own model provider or with Nous Portal, Nous Research's service with many hosted models. It can also use a model running on the same server, but then the server needs the memory of that model as well. Our guide to running Ollama on a server without a GPU shows what small models need.
Security basics
Keep the gateway's default: only allowlisted or paired users. Its documentation does not recommend allowing all users for a bot with terminal access. It also ignores e-mail senders unless you turn e-mail pairing on.
Most of our guide to securing OpenClaw applies here too. Give the agent its own accounts and keys, set a spending limit, and restore a backup at least once.
What it costs each month
The server is a fixed monthly price and the model is paid per token. Hermes Agent itself is free under the MIT licence; model providers and Nous Portal have their own prices, by its home page. Our guide to what OpenClaw or Hermes Agent costs each month adds the two together with a calculator.
How we checked
We read Hermes Agent's documentation, its GitHub releases and each host's Hermes page on 27 October 2026. Our own measurements will be added here, with their dates, when our test bench runs them.
Mistakes to avoid
Forgetting the data folder in backups
Instead: Back up ~/.hermes: it holds the memory and skills the agent builds up.
Running the gateway in a terminal you then close
Instead: Install it as a service and enable lingering.
Allowing all users on a bot with terminal access
Instead: Keep the allowlist or pairing on.
Renting for today's memory use only
Instead: Leave room for the memory and skills folder to grow.
Other questions
Can I host Hermes Agent for free?
On a computer you already own, yes, apart from the model's usage costs. It installs on Linux, macOS and Windows, but it stops when that computer is off.
Does Hermes Agent need a GPU?
No, if it uses a hosted model through your provider or Nous Portal. Only a model running on the same machine needs the memory, and often the GPU, that the model requires.
How do I keep Hermes Agent running after I log out?
Install the gateway as a service with hermes gateway install, then enable lingering with sudo loginctl enable-linger, as its messaging documentation shows.
Sources and test notes
- Hermes Agent home page, read
- Hermes Agent documentation: installation, read
- Hermes Agent documentation: messaging gateway, read
- Hermes Agent documentation: memory, read
- Hermes Agent on GitHub (releases), read
- Cloudways managed AI agents, read
- Hostinger: Hermes Agent application, read
- Hostinger AI automation apps, read
- DigitalOcean Marketplace: Hermes Agent, read
- Kamatera: Hermes, read
- Contabo: Hermes AI VPS hosting, read
Every page read on 27 October 2026; releases through GitHub's API.