Skip to main content
Find my setup
Language: English

gpt-oss-120b: what it needs and where to run it

OpenAI's gpt-oss-120b runs on one rented 80 GB GPU, such as an H100, as its model card says. Its files take 65.2 GB, and even its longest conversation adds less than 5 GB.

It is also fast for its size: only 5.1 billion of its 117 billion parameters work on each token. Its smaller sibling, gpt-oss-20b, needs a 16 to 24 GB card.

The figures below come from OpenAI's model cards, vLLM's and Ollama's documentation and NVIDIA's own figures, read on 27 October 2026. The memory sums come from our GPU memory guide.

Warm evening sunlight falling across a panelled white door that stands slightly open
An open-weight model: you can download it and run it on a card you rent. Photo: Patryk Balcerzak, Pexels.

Who this is for

  • you want OpenAI's open-weight model on a server you control
  • you are choosing a card for gpt-oss-120b or gpt-oss-20b
  • you want the exact commands for Ollama or vLLM

Not for you if you need a model above this size, or several at once: see where to run an open-source LLM.

Key numbers

  • 65.2 GB gpt-oss-120b's files as released, in OpenAI's 4-bit MXFP4 format Official page,
  • 5.1 billion parameters at work for each token, of 117 billion in all, by OpenAI's model card Official page,
  • 4.8 GB of cache for its longest conversation, 131,072 tokens Our calculation,
  • 256 tokens per second the most NVIDIA quotes for gpt-oss on a GeForce RTX 5090 Official page,

What gpt-oss-120b and gpt-oss-20b need

Both models come compressed: OpenAI trained their expert layers in MXFP4, a 4-bit format. Our GPU memory guide adds the cache each conversation needs and keeps 10% of the card free.

gpt-oss-120b fits one 80 GB card even at its longest conversation; gpt-oss-20b fits a 24 GB card.

gpt-oss memory needs: files and parameters from OpenAI's model cards, cache and card sizes by our calculation
ModelFiles as releasedParameters per tokenCache at 131,072 tokensSmallest card
gpt-oss-120b65.2 GB5.1 billion of 116.8 billion4.8 GB80 GB
gpt-oss-20b13.8 GB3.6 billion of 20.9 billion3.2 GB24 GB (OpenAI: within 16 GB)

Ollama's library lists the two at 65 GB and 14 GB, each with a 128K context window. OpenAI's own figure for the smaller model, within 16 GB, leaves less room for long conversations than a 24 GB card does.

Why it runs faster than its size suggests

gpt-oss is a mixture-of-experts model. Each token passes through only a few of its many expert networks. The card therefore reads about 5 billion parameters per token instead of 117 billion.

That cuts the work per token, not the memory: the whole model must still sit on the card. The speed is closer to a small model's than to a dense 70B model's, such as Llama 3.3 70B.

NVIDIA's launch post of 5 August 2025 quotes up to 256 tokens a second on a GeForce RTX 5090, with Ollama or llama.cpp. That card has 32 GB, so the figure is for gpt-oss-20b.

A result posted to llama.cpp's public scoreboard points the same way: gpt-oss-20b wrote 241 tokens a second on a 32 GB RTX PRO 4500 Blackwell. Our speed figures by card compare it with dense models.

Which rented GPU to pick

For gpt-oss-120b, rent an 80 GB card or larger. The recipe from vLLM lists the H100, H200 and B200 among the cards it supports. It says support for older A100-class and L40S-class cards is still in progress.

80 GB cards and larger, for gpt-oss-120b. Prices checked on 25 Oct 2026.
PlanPriceNew-customer offerLink
DigitalOcean GPU Droplet, 1 x NVIDIA H100 80 GB GPU $4.41/hour (about $3,219/month) on demand, billed per second · VAT not stated checked 25 Oct 2026 New accounts get a $5 credit that lasts 90 days and covers every product except SaaS add-ons checked 29 Oct 2026 Visit
UpCloud GPU Server, 1 x NVIDIA H100, 12 cores, 240 GB 80 GB GPU €2.17/hour (about €1,458/month; no charge after 28 days of use)30-day month: the last 2 days are free.31-day month: the last 3 days are free.February: no free days (one in a leap year).Started mid-month: it may never reach the cap that month. on demand, billed by the starting hour; monthly cost capped at 28 days of use checked 25 Oct 2026 No offer Visit
GPU Mart Enterprise Dedicated GPU Server - H100 80 GB GPU $2,099/month monthly rate of a 24-month term, paid in advance · VAT not stated checked 25 Oct 2026 A free 24-hour trial of a VPS, dedicated or GPU server for new clients, on request checked 29 Oct 2026 Visit
Liquid Web GPU server, NVIDIA H100 NVL 94GB 94 GB GPU $2,174.25/month monthly; 25% off the first month, then $2,899 · VAT not stated checked 25 Oct 2026 No offer Visit
Unihost AZM-10, NVIDIA H200 141 GB GPU €2,999.90/month monthly, paid in advance; minimum one month checked 25 Oct 2026 No offer Visit

Monthly costs for hourly prices assume the server runs all month (730 hours), or less where a provider caps the monthly bill.

Hourly and per-second plans show the price for a full month; you pay only for the hours you use.

For gpt-oss-20b, a 24 or 32 GB card is enough. On L4 or RTX cards, use Ollama, since vLLM's support for those cards is still in progress.

24 and 32 GB cards, for gpt-oss-20b. Prices checked on 25 Oct 2026.
PlanPriceNew-customer offerLink
UpCloud GPU Server, 1 x NVIDIA L4, 8 cores, 64 GB 24 GB GPU €0.58/hour (about €390/month; no charge after 28 days of use)30-day month: the last 2 days are free.31-day month: the last 3 days are free.February: no free days (one in a leap year).Started mid-month: it may never reach the cap that month. on demand, billed by the starting hour; monthly cost capped at 28 days of use checked 25 Oct 2026 No offer Visit
Liquid Web GPU server, NVIDIA L4 24GB 24 GB GPU $584.25/month monthly; 25% off the first month, then $779 · VAT not stated checked 25 Oct 2026 No offer Visit
GPU Mart Enterprise Dedicated GPU Server - RTX 4090 24 GB GPU $409/month monthly rate of a 24-month term, paid in advance · VAT not stated checked 25 Oct 2026 A free 24-hour trial of a VPS, dedicated or GPU server for new clients, on request checked 29 Oct 2026 Visit
GPU Mart Enterprise Dedicated GPU Server - RTX 5090 32 GB GPU $479/month monthly rate of a 24-month term, paid in advance · VAT not stated checked 25 Oct 2026 A free 24-hour trial of a VPS, dedicated or GPU server for new clients, on request checked 29 Oct 2026 Visit

Dedicated monthly servers suit steady use; hourly ones suit testing and bursts.

Step by step with Ollama

OpenAI's model card gives two commands for Ollama. After installing it on a GPU server:

bash

curl -fsSL https://ollama.com/install.sh | sh
ollama pull gpt-oss:120b      # 65 GB; use gpt-oss:20b (14 GB) on a 24 or 32 GB card
ollama run gpt-oss:120b
ollama ps                     # PROCESSOR should say 100% GPU

Keep Ollama's port 11434 on the server itself, as our guide to running Ollama explains.

Step by step with vLLM

vLLM serves the model to many users at once through an OpenAI-style API. Its recipe installs it in a Python environment, or runs it from its Docker image:

bash

uv venv
source .venv/bin/activate
uv pip install vllm --torch-backend=auto
vllm serve openai/gpt-oss-120b

# or with Docker
docker run --gpus all -p 8000:8000 --ipc=host vllm/vllm-openai --model openai/gpt-oss-120b

Both models were trained on OpenAI's harmony response format and only work correctly with it. The vLLM server handles the format, and its recipe recommends the Responses API that OpenAI suggests for this model.

Through an API instead

Several model API providers offer gpt-oss-120b and charge per token. For light or irregular use, that can cost less than renting an 80 GB card all month. Our guide to API, rented GPU or your own hardware shows where the costs cross.

The licence

Both models come under the Apache 2.0 licence, which allows commercial use and changes. OpenAI's model card describes it as free of copyleft restrictions and patent risk.

How we checked

We read OpenAI's model cards, vLLM's recipe, Ollama's library and NVIDIA's launch post on 27 October 2026. The memory sums come from our GPU memory guide, worked out on 25 October 2026.

Our own measurements will be added here, with their dates, when our test bench runs them.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Renting a 48 GB card for gpt-oss-120b

    Instead: Its files alone are 65.2 GB; rent 80 GB or more.

  • Expecting a mixture-of-experts model to need less memory

    Instead: Only the work per token shrinks; all the weights stay on the card.

  • Calling it without the harmony format

    Instead: Use vLLM or Ollama, which handle it for you.

  • Paying for a card all month for light use

    Instead: Compare the cost with a model API first.

Other questions

What GPU do I need for gpt-oss-120b?

One 80 GB card, such as an H100 or an A100 80 GB, as OpenAI's model card and vLLM's recipe say. Its files take 65.2 GB, and long conversations add less than 5 GB.

Can gpt-oss-120b run on an RTX 5090?

Not on the card alone: the RTX 5090 has 32 GB and the model's files take 65.2 GB. The 5090 suits gpt-oss-20b, which NVIDIA says reaches up to 256 tokens a second there.

How much memory does gpt-oss-20b need?

OpenAI says it runs within 16 GB. A 24 GB card leaves room for long conversations.

Sources and test notes

Every page read on 27 October 2026; memory sums from our GPU memory guide (25 October 2026).

Back to Where to run an open model